Programs and Services
Room Rentals
GED/Adult Education
2020 Teachers of the Year



Submitted by:


Dr. Danny Lovett, Executive Director

Region 5 Education Service Center


August 13, 2020





Region 5 Education Service Center is pleased to announce that Vidor ISD is the regional winner for TASA’s 2020 School Board of the Year. Board Members include David Camp, President; Mike Marion, Vice-President; Rollie Burr, Secretary; Natalie Long, Asst. Secretary; Carrie Vincent, Member; Gina VanDevender, Member; and Michael Helms, Member. Dr. Jay Killgo is Superintendent.


School Boards are awarded the honor based on support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives, as well as for educational performance in accordance with state-established standards. Other criteria include adherence to adopted board policies, function as a policy-making body, and a number of additional standards.


Specifically, Vidor ISD School Board Members have displayed excellence in the following areas, to name a few:

  • Well-managed budget
  • Capital improvements, some of which include:
    • Five-year replacement of all computers in the district
    • Updating technology infrastructure in the district
    • Complete renovation of classroom lighting
  • College, Career, and Military Readiness Course
  • Support of Fine Arts
  • Establishment as a District of Innovation
  • Advanced Career and Technology Program
  • Steadfast community and district support after Tropical Storms Harvey and Imelda, and now COVID


Please join Region 5 Education Service Center in congratulating the Vidor ISD School Board for this prestigious honor!


Vidor School Board


Press Release – July 1, 2020

From: Danny Lovett, Executive Director

            Region 5 Education Service Center



Michelle BarrowRegion 5 Education Service Center is pleased to announce its regional winner for TASB’s 2020 Superintendent of the Year, Michelle Barrow of Newton ISD. Ms. Barrow has served as superintendent there for the past five years.

Ms. Barrow has exhibited exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance, which is the very mission of the award. She was chosen for her strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in Newton ISD, and her commitment to public support and involvement in education.

She is a former graduate of Newton High School who returned home to give back to her community. Ms. Barrow has served Newton ISD as an elementary teacher, middle school teacher, elementary assistant principal, principal, assistant superintendent, and finally, Superintendent of Schools.  Previous awards include Teacher of the Year and Chamber of Commerce Community Service Award.

Ms. Barrow was nominated for the position by her local school board, and a non-biased selection team of school board members from various districts made the final selection. She will be interviewed as a regional winner in late summer by the TASB State Selection Committee, at which time five finalists will be chosen to proceed in the process for the State Superintendent of the Year award.

Her letter of nomination contains a multitude of ways that she has improved the learning culture in her district, and has established innovative ways to give both students and staff members opportunities for success. During her career, she “revamped the district’s interim assessment methods and data disaggregation,” which “created a new level of student achievement.” The letter adds that she is fair, firm, and consistent, while “maintaining a compassionate attitude toward all staff and students.”

The following success story was listed in her letter of nomination and displays her motivational qualities as manifested in this staff member: “One person in particular began their career with us as a custodian. With encouragement and assistance from our superintendent, this person has ascended the proverbial career ladder, moving from custodian to paraprofessional, becoming one of the district’s strongest teachers, and is now serving as a lead teacher.”

Region 5 is very proud of Ms. Barrow and her accomplishments! Please join us in recognizing her for this very prestigious award. Congratulations to Ms. Michelle Barrow and Newton ISD!



Online Learning Supports & Resources LiveBinder



ESC 5 - LiveBinder



Picture of CDC discussing COVID 19


 What you need to know













Region 5 Teachers of the Year 2020





Region 5 Names Bridge City ISD School Board as 2019 School Board of the Year


Bridge City ISD School Board picture



Region 5 Names Dr. Cody Abshier as 2019 Superintendent of the Year


Region 5 names Dr. Cody Abshier Superintendent of the Year




Lesson Study Recognition


TEA Commissioner with Port Neches Groves teachers and staff


Port Neches Groves ISD educators and their Region 5 Lesson Study facilitator were recognized by Texas Education Agency's Commissioner during his keynote address to superintendents at Texas Association of School Administrator's Midwinter Conference on January 30, 2018. The teachers created a math lesson for third grade students on the distributive property. The lesson was highlighted because its originality, rigor and student gains. The lesson can be found on the Texas Gateway site of online resources. (Pictured from L-R: Assistant Superintendent: Brenda Duhon; Assistant Superintendent: Julie Gauthier; Teacher: Paige Tobias; Teacher:Tracie Billeaud; TEA Commissioner: Mike Morath; Teacher: Angie Melancon; ESC 5 Lesson Study Facilitator: Roxanne Minix-Wilkins; Superintendent: Mike Gonzales)

Region 5 Announces Teachers of the Year for 2019


            2019 Elementary Teacher of the Year             2019 High School Teacher of the Year


Region 5 ESC is pleased to announce its 2019 Teachers of the Year, shown here with Executive Director Dr. Danny Lovett: Christy Cunningham of Bridge City Elementary School, Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Terry Morris of Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School, Secondary Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to each of you!

News and Announcements

View All News Articles

This Feed is unreachable... please contact the webmaster.